A scary feature in Apple iPhone completely delete your data!

For most people, setting up their Apple iPhone to scan itself after many failed attempts to unlock the phone with the wrong password seems like a scary idea but there is a very compelling reason to enable this feature.

In the depth of your phone settings there is an option to erase all data on your Apple iPhone after 10 attempts to enter an incorrect password.

This option usually stays in “off” mode for many people, for obvious reason: if someone in your life tries to open your phone and fails many times, everything on your phone will be lost.

Here’s how this feature works

After the failed fifth attempt, iOS requires a one minute delay before you can try again. During this timeout, the only thing you can do is make an emergency call to 911. After the sixth attempt, you will get a 5 minute timeout. After 7 and 15 minutes, these times escalate so that it takes more than 3 hours to enter 10 incorrect pass codes.

So, while it looks scary in theory, it’s very unlikely that any child, friend, or friend can erase all of your data accidentally and quickly. On the other hand, operating this feature may protect your phone’s sensitive data from falling into the hands of the wrong people if it is lost or stolen.

How to activate this feature

Open Settings, then scroll down to the Touch ID and password. You will be asked to enter your password, and then scroll down until you see Clear Data and then turn it on.